UNRV Ancient Roman Empire Forums

Caesar's 'gallic Wars'

Favonius Cornelius

This is interesting question. I noted that Caesar made Celts more ordinary then in really life. Of course I cannot know about really Celts but there are archaeological finds and they can say anything about them. And I found a few mistakes (or overstatement)

Caesar wrote that Celts couldn

Caesar was mostly on the mark. I'm not an expert by the way. I have limited knowledge here. I do know some historians definitely question what he wrote "or didn't write" about the Battle of Gergova. Clearly a Roman defeat. Caesar doesn't really admit to that in his works.

If he didn't accurately describe this event I'm more than positive he didn't accurately describe others. You just have to corroborate his work with others.

Take everything with a grain of salt.

If Caesar is so accurate, would this make him one of the greatest of ancient historians?

If you read Caesar book you could note that it look like fiction and really very interesting. Wonderful language and reach imagination. Good author in one word. Historian...? There are many interesting facts in his book but I sure a part of them really fiction. But this can say about other historians too.

Can anyone come up with specific instances where Caesar vilified the Gauls in an attempt to rationalize his conquest?

If Caesar is so accurate, would this make him one of the greatest of ancient historians?

Personally, I don't know if he ever did. I would think he wouldn't need to villify them since Rome already feared them so much. Didn't seem to be really much opposition (from the population anyway) to his subduiing them. Gaul and Rome already had a lot of history between them. Gaul had nearly sacked Rome once already. ONly a bribe saved them. The Gauls villified themselves quite enough before Caesar came into the picture.