UNRV Ancient Roman Empire Forums
spittle

Before The Republic?

I am new to this subject so please forgive my ignorance.

Could anyone suggest sources of information concerning the pre-republican monarchy and/or the pre-Roman civilisations that preceeded and directly lead to Rome. It fascinated me that even at the time of Caesars assassination the Brutus name was already ancient and, by extension, this lead me to the assumption that the earliest days of the republic and the latter days of monarchy must be chronicled in some form.

Michael Grant's History Of Rome book is a pretty good read, it charts Romes history starting from the Etruscan period right the way through to the eventual decline of the empire, im sure you will find everything you need to know in that book

If not, then like Octavius says try the persus site that too is pretty damn good :)(when it actually works)

Edited by Gaius Paulinus Maximus

A number of commentaries on Livy are useful for your purpose--you can read both what the Romans believed about their own ancient history as well as what modern history, archaeology and linguistics has to offer. Oglivie's A Commentary on Livy is a classic. Also, The Ancient City was simply seminal.

A number of commentaries on Livy are useful for your purpose--you can read both what the Romans believed about their own ancient history as well as what modern history, archaeology and linguistics has to offer. Oglivie's A Commentary on Livy is a classic. Also, The Ancient City was simply seminal.

'The Ancient City' is a wonderful book. It is an eye-opener with regard to the gods. Anyone with the authors name deserves to be read. As an aside, my copy cost me 95 cents (list). Inflation!

Ever hear of an author of the name Moses Hadas?