UNRV Ancient Roman Empire Forums

To Believe or Not to Believe

PM!

I am studying Lucius Cornelius SULLA as part of my A Level course in ancient history. I found writings by Plutarch about Sulla in "The Parallel Lives" which was written about 80 years after Sulla had died.

Therefore, my question is :- how can we believe people like Plutarch and others who where not there at the time ? :rolleyes:

Edited by PM!

I am studying Lucius Cornelius SULLA as part of my A Level course in ancient history. I found writings by Plutarch about Sulla in "The Parallel Lives" which was written about 80 years after Sulla had died.

Therefore, my question is :- how can we believe people like Plutarch and others who where not there at the time ? :rolleyes:

Salve, PM. Welcome to UNRV.

If you're looking for the basics, this brief guide by Patricia Barry may be useful:

Reliability refers to how credible or trustworthy material may be as a historical source of evidence.

In order to test for reliability, these are some of the questions an historian should ask.

Who wrote the source?

What are their ideas / beliefs?

What is the extent of their knowledge of the subject

Are they well informed or is their work over opinionated?

Are there many "I" statements in the work, or is it written in the "third person".

Are they for or against the issue under discussion?

Is the source a Primary Source?

Is the author an eyewitness?

Eyewitnesses may lack a global view, they may not be able to see/hear all that happened

However, they will be able to present a focussed point of view

Was the source written for a specific reason, eg. a private diary may present the same material quite differently from a witness statement given to a government inquiry.

As an immediate report, it could contain errors

An eyewitness report can be very valuable for feelings and details which may not "make it" in later versions.

Is the Source a Secondary source?