Home    Forum    Empire    Government    Military    Culture    Economy    Books    Support
Roman Empire Map
Roman Provinces
Enemy Leaders
Roman History

Map of Thracia

Map of Thrace

Thracia was the country east of Macedonia, bounded on the north by the Danube and on the south by the Aegean Sea, the Dardanelles, the Sea of Marmora, and the territory of Bithynia.

In the beginning the name Thracia was refered to in a very loose and vague fashion. Even the Macedonians were sometimes spoken of as a tribe of Thrace, which in that case simply meant the land north-east of Greece.

The Thracian tribes to the south, neighbouring the Ancient Greeks, determined the latter to name a so called Thrace region (now divided between Bulgaria, Greece and Turkey). Other names of ancient provinces inhabited by Thracians were: Moesia, Dacia, Scythia Minor, Bithynia (in northwest Asia Minor), Mysia, Macedonia, Pannonia, and others. This area extends over most of the Balkans region, and the Getae north of the Danube as far as beyond the Bug.

Archaeological and linguistic evidence supports the observation of Herodotus (5.3) in the fifth century BC, that the Thracians were a multitude of tribes, who, despite a fundamentally common language and heritage, did not ever achieve a unified national consciousness.

back to the province of Thracia

Map of Thrace - Related Topic: Map of Macedonia - Roman Empire Map


Ⓒ 2003-2017 UNRV.com