UNRV Ancient Roman Empire Forums

The Huns and The Romans

erik

Hi there,

I am new to this cool forum and found a place on which I can post my question and that is the following :

I am interested in the history of the Huns and the Romans together, I want to know if they coexisted in a time some 2.ooo years ago or even before Christ.

What was their relationship, where they fighting each other, which I think they did.

Where the Huns a threat to the Roman Empire and did they attack the Romans at times ?

What time schedule can you give me of the coexistance of the Huns and the Romans ?

I like to thank you for your thought.

Erik.

Edited by erik

Erik,

I'm by no means an expert, but here's what little I know...

- They did coexist, but I'm not sure for how long

- The Romans were aware of the Huns and the potential danger they presented in the later years of the Empire (at least late 300s/early 400s)

- Attila was born the same year, 406, that a mass of several hundred Germanic tribes walked across the frozen Rhine and entered Gaul. This was a key moment in the decline of the Empire and is fictionalized (in a terrific sequence of battles) in Wallace Breem's "Eagle in the Snow".

- One of the pressures on the tribes in Germania may have been the Huns migration westward. The huns already had a terrible reputation and so many tribes wanted to get out of the way. Italy was still strong enough to fend off attacks within Italy itself. Geography was limited to the North. The Huns were coming from the East...and so the only direction available was West across the Rhine into poorly defended Gaul.

Hi there,

I am new to this cool forum and found a place on which I can post my question and that is the following :

I am interested in the history of the Huns and the Romans together, I want to know if they coexisted in a time some 2.ooo years ago or even before Christ.

What was their relationship, where they fighting each other, which I think they did.