UNRV Ancient Roman Empire Forums

World's Most Powerful Empires - Maybe

caldrail

Just now I was leafing through an internet article describing the greatest empires ever. I've heard of most of them, although a fair few I have no knowledge of at all. Naturally I felt a little bit of patriotic pride when the British Empire emerges up at the top of the list, but what struck me more about the article was the dubious content here and there. Did the Mongol Empire ever actually control South Africa like the map showed? Or did Stalin actually allow multi-party elections in Russia in 1991, when most sources will tell you it was Gorbachev long after Stalin was dead?

A reminder therefore that the internet is not a reliable source of information. 

Yeah, the British empire was apparently the largest by square miles.

As for Russia, it was at its largest territorial expansion by the time of the sale of Alaska. It is true that USSR under Stalin was formally a multi-party state, it was abolished later under Brezhnev when USSR turned into a one-party state with the adoption of the new Constitution. Also USSR actually abolished the voting restrictions about 30 years before the US did the same in 1965 for black folks. That's how ironic the history could be 🙂