UNRV Ancient Roman Empire Forums

Translations please

On my trip to Rome I took these pictures, would somebody be kind enough to translate them please.

The first one was taken in the square outside the Pantheon.

http://www.unrv.com/forum/index.php?automo...si&img=1640

The second was in the entrance to the Pantheon.

http://www.unrv.com/forum/index.php?automo...si&img=1641

The third was on the Temple of Julius Caesar.

http://www.unrv.com/forum/index.php?automo...si&img=1659.

Thanks.

Hmm...first one and third one looks odd, I think they are Italian inscriptions from the Renaissance or some other period, because the Latin doesn't look right, more like early Italian. Actually, they are excerpts from some Italian well-knowns. I'm pretty sure you can find online translation for those.

For the second one,it is latin, but oddly put together for an inscription. I'm not good at inscriptions, so don't trust me:

To the Blessed Ninth Pontifex Maximus

To the Most Noble and Most Magnificient Chief

To the Founder of the Good Arts(Science, Art, Philos..etc)

Which the house ?of the designate place?

To the left occupied Temple Chamber and Open Space of the Pantheon

Displayed a Public Work through Camillus Iacobin

Redeemed/Renovated and is maded even/equal

He has/will have provided for this beautiful decoration of the temple of the city

College of Skilled Experts by the divine/Divo[actual name] Luke

The translation above is mess...but to clarify what I have learned...basically, the inscription you took a picture of is actually NeoLatin, meaning it's not classical. Apparently, some Italian guy destroyed a section of land to the left of the Pantheon under Pope PIus.

Basically my friend, all your selections is not actual Latin nor from the Roman period.

At least I think so.

Edited by FLavius Valerius Constantinus