UNRV Ancient Roman Empire Forums
Sign in to follow this  
rvmaximus

Romans Really Only Worthy Opponents Parthians?

Can anyone explain a couple of questions I have. I am basically new to this but have read a bit. I ahve a theory..it may sound absurd but you never know. It seems that the Roman generals for the most part engaged enemies being severly out numbered and sometimes trapped. Intelligent gemerals would not allow this. They did have loyalty it seems for the most part. Looking from the outside after reading(Caesar to Vegetius) about thier conquests it seems that the writers alwys elevated the status of their enemies but ussauly anihilated them.(That means Roman wriers used much poetic license to elevate their troops: they inhilated people of great soldiers with enormous bravery...etc.) But an occasional slip up occurs...example when Caesar was fighting a German tribe he mentioned how cowardly they were....and his archers picked off some who tried to hide in trees and so many drowned in the Rhine while retreating. Conclusion: Roman writers did not tell the truth. Also, looking at this from the other side of the Atlantic the only real problems the Romans had was from the Parthians and Hannibal. Europeans seemingly were extremely incompetent against them..accept from an occasional trap. Remember the Romans were severely outnumbered in most battles in Europe with thin supply lines while the natives albetit Celts,Germans,Dacians, Iberians etc. had huge advantages. But and a big but....in Asia the Romans were the incomptent ones against the horse and bow. The Parthians did so much damage that it is incredible the Romans went on after so many large defeats to them. It seems that the best way to beat the Romans was avoid hand to hand combat,simple. ???