UNRV Ancient Roman Empire Forums

Romanian...not The Closest To Latin

R

Romanian unlike some people in these forums say might not be the closest to latin. It has gotten many slovic elements mixed in with its latin roots. French too has drifted away especially in pronunciation from the other romance languages, but not so much in writing. Spanish retained basque and arabic elements (from the Arabic takeover in the 1400s) so it is not the closest. So what is left? Italian, Portuguese and Sardinian/Sicilian dialects. The first of these (Italian) is widley believed to be closest to latin, but what about the last two? If you have any examples proving or disproving my theory i would be curious to see them, becuase i have been researching this topic and this is the conclusion i have come to.

Edited by R

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm not a linguistic expert, but saying Slavic elements mixed with Romanian doesn't stop it from still being closely related to Latin. Sure a good number of Romanian words may drift away from the Latin spelling and meaning, but its structure of grammar and way of speaking can still make it close to Latin. Plus, its amazing for any culture(id est the Dacians) to retain the majority of its Roman roots after being isolated from the Roman Empire 300 years later after being conquerd by Trajan, not to mention countless Barbarian tribes invading it. Being along and making up the majority of the Danubian border sucks since its where many barbarians pass through.

Edited by FLavius Valerius Constantinus