UNRV Ancient Roman Empire Forums

Food In Romano-britain

ncross

I have used a combination of written and internet resources to develop this page on 'Food in Romano-Britain'. I would appreciate a critical opinion of the accuracy of the information contained on the page.

http://resourcesforhistory.com/Roman_Food_in_Britain.htm

With the sources, which I had, available I found some conflicting information particularly in relation to what animals, vegetables and herbs the Romans brought to Britain. For example, there are many references to the Romans bringing rabbits to Britain but my schooling taught me that it was the Normans who introduced them. I would be grateful if you could support any opinions with good references.

It is intended to be used by a mixed audience but primarily school children.

Thank you.

Edited by ncross

Your page seems ok to me but im no expert,Andrew Dalby and Pertinax are the Food experts around here (you have a picture of one of Andrew's books on the page).

We did get taught that the Rabbit was a Norman introduction but new archeological evidence proves that the Romans brought them here.

BBC news

Edited by longbow

Thank you for your useful reply.

It seems strange that they did not know about the rabbbit's presence in Roman Britain before now given the rate at which it's population spreads. The article in the BBC's report was very useful in putting this question to bed. I wonder if there has been any new discoveries since that one was identified in 2004?

Is Andrew Dalby a member of this forum? I included his book because Sally Grainger who is the co-author used to conduct cooking demonstrations in the Roman Legionary Museum where I used to work. I haven't actually got a copy of it myself yet. I have a copy of the other book that I listed (written by Jane Renfrew) and I found that useful but it was not specific on what was introduced by the Romans.

Cheers