• Southern Iraq
    • Southeastern Rwanda
    • Northern Mali
    • West of Timbuktu
    • Southwestern Sudan
    • Why should I care anyway?
    • Darfur is a figment of Antiochus III's imagination
    • The United States of America and Darfur are synonymous

I am a sophomore in a pretty good school in the western suburbs of Chicago: one day I decided to ask people some questions regarding geography and current events. Most did not have any idea of where Darfur was. A few kids in an AP class knew, but that was it. It seems unbelievable that this is possible--even at this school which is good--only 33 percent of students can point out Egypt!!! I think that we need to place much more emphasis on geography. In fact, I propose that a world map be included in high school entrance exams. Frankly, it is unacceptable, and I certainly hope you all fare better on this than the people I know. Good luck, and if you don't consider yourself geographically literate, make yourself literate!

Antiochus III

Edited by Antiochus III

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

even at this school which is good--only 33 percent of students can point out Egypt!!!

Americans have a notorious reputation for ignorance of the world outside their own country. If you're american and reading this, I wouldn't worry unduly. Most of the younger british population doesn't have a clue either.

In any case, if you don't know where darfur is, just follow the sound of shooting or perhaps chinese freight consignments.

In my day I like to think that people had a general idea of where major conflicts were occuring even if they could place the conflict to within a few hundred miles on a large scale map.