UNRV Ancient Roman Empire Forums

Pronunciation - Words & Names

Caius Maxentius

There are a bunch of words and names I've read, but never heard. Does anyone know how they're pronounced, and what syllable gets the emphasis?

In particular: aedile, mos maiorum, Odovacer/Odoacer, Stilicho, Cassivalaunus.

With certain plural words, like "frumentarii" is the last syllable an "ee" sound or is it "ee-eye?"

• Replies 74
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Some will correct me if I'm wrong on these but

aedile= eye-dial (as in sundial)

mos maiorum= mos (as in mosque) may (as in mayor) or (as in orbit) um

Odovacer= Odo-wa-ker (the -er sound in -ker is pronoucend like air)

Stilicho= Sstee (make the long -ss sound, not a -z sound) lee-cho

Cassivalaunus= Kassee-wal-aun(as in aunt)-us

I'm sure people with more skill will come back and correct me, I'm not good at doing word pronounciation on paper...

Sextus, your pronunciation are good, but I would make the following changes:

aedile = ah-ay-dee-lay (the ah-ay can be pronounced like the word "eye")

stilicho = the "ch" comes from the greek "Chi" (X) and is pronounced with an aspirated hard "c" like this: kho = stee - lee - kho

finally, "ii" is pronounced "ee-ee"

If you prefer I can scan a page about latin pronunciation from my book?

In reality, pronunciation doesn't really matter to the Romans that much as long as you get the idea or message across by use good sentence construction, unless you're a politician.

Edited by FLavius Valerius Constantinus

Sextus, your pronunciation are good, but I would make the following changes:

aedile = ah-ay-dee-lay (the ah-ay can be pronounced like the word "eye")

stilicho = the "ch" comes from the greek "Chi" (X) and is pronounced with an aspirated hard "c" like this: kho = stee - lee - kho

finally, "ii" is pronounced "ee-ee"

Your right, I was running on automatic there.

Thanks for these replies!