Home    Forum    Empire    Government    Military    Culture    Economy    Books    Support
Roman Empire Map
Roman Provinces
Enemy Leaders
Roman History

Map of Hispania

Map of Hispania

Roman armies invaded Spain and used it as a training ground for officers and as a proving ground for tactics during campaigns against the Carthaginians and the Iberians. Iberian resistance was fierce and prolonged, however, and it was not until 19 B.C. that the Roman emperor Augustus (r. 27 B.C.-A.D. 14) was able to complete the conquest of Spain.

Romanization of the Iberians proceeded quickly after their conquest. Called Hispania by the Romans, Spain was not one political entity but was divided into three separately governed provinces (nine provinces by the fourth century A.D.). More important, Spain was for more than 400 years part of a cosmopolitan world empire bound together by law, language, and the Roman road.

back to the province of Hispania

Learn Spanish
Learn Portuguese

Map of Hispania


Ⓒ 2003-2017 UNRV.com